Snack foods often contain gluten.
The list of gluten-containing processed foods is probably too long to memorize. You're better off learning which ingredients are unsafe to eat and how to identify them in foods. This way you can simply read a label and know whether you can eat the food. When in doubt, whole foods such as fruits, vegetables, proteins, nuts, beans and dairy products are generally safe to eat.
Grains with Gluten
If you experience gas, bloating, diarrhea, headaches or nausea after eating gluten, you may be sensitive to it, according to The University of Chicago Celiac Disease Research Research Center. Gluten is the protein found in the grains wheat, rye and barley. Eating these grains, or any ingredients made from them causes an adverse reaction in people with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance. You'll also need to avoid other forms of these grains that go by the names triticale, spelt, einkorn, emmer, kamut, bulgur, farina and semolina.
Generally, the gluten-containing grains are found in regular baked goods, which are made from various forms of wheat flour. Regular breads, bagels, cookies, cakes, brownies, doughnuts and muffins all contain gluten. However, gluten-free versions of these products made from safe grains and starches, such as brown rice, sorghum, amaranth, quinoa, corn, tapioca and potato, are available in many grocery and health food stores.
Regular noodles and pasta contain various forms of wheat flour and therefore gluten. Avoid spaghetti, fusilli, fettuccine, linguine, penne, macaroni, gnocchi, soba, udon or egg noodles unless the package specifically states that they're gluten-free. Rice, corn and quinoa can be used in place of wheat for making gluten-free pasta. Asian white rice noodles, such as pad thai, mai fun or rice sticks, are almost always gluten-free.
You'll also find gluten in many processed snack and convenience foods, such as pretzels, crackers, chips, microwaveable dinners, seasoned nuts, candy, broth, processed meat and soups. Look for gluten in processed foods by reading the ingredient list. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration requires companies to label wheat. If an ingredient is followed by the word "wheat" in parentheses, or if there is a statement saying "Contains: Wheat" at the end of the list, the food is unsafe.
Condiments and Sauces
Condiments and sauces are less obvious foods that often contain hidden forms of gluten. These gluten-containing ingredients work as thickeners, colorings or flavorings. Check the food label of salad dressing, marinades, sauces, gravies, mayonnaise and other condiments for ingredients made from the prohibited grains. They go by names such as malt flavoring, caramel coloring, modified food starch, soy sauce, hydrolyzed protein, artificial coloring, artificial flavoring, stabilizers and seasonings.
When eating in restaurants, avoid items that are breaded because the breading contains gluten. Fried ingredients may be put in the same oil as gluten-containing foods, so it's best to avoid them. Condiments served with items may contain gluten as well. Ask your server about the gluten-free options available. Usually grilled or baked meats, vegetables and rice are safe options for eating out. When in doubt, do not eat a food that may contain gluten. Eating even a small amount of gluten can cause unwanted side effects.